Essential Childhood Reading

It came to my attention that not many children are reading actual books nowadays, unless it is within school or maybe the latest gossip columns online. I still have some of my classic childhood books and I’d be lying if I said I haven’t re-read them over and over again since. These 3 books I would recommend to children/preteens (or adults if you want a fast, easy read!) are a must for your book collection.

The Diary of a Killer Cat – Anne Fine

diary of a killer cat.jpgThis was one of the first books I just couldn’t put down and read from cover to cover in a day. Looking through the eyes of a mischievious cat and how his family don’t enjoy his hunting, it has comedy as well as a good old bit of gross. From Anne Fine and suitable for kids 8 up, this witty, funny book is one of those that should be adapted to TV. The not too long story will have your kids hooked and have them turning the pages quiker than they can turn on a PS4.

 

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

This is more appropiate for pre teens and above, and as they get older it is a novel thatto kill a mockingbird they will appreciate as the years go by. To Kill a Mockingbird follows three years in the life of 8-year-old Scout Finch, her brother, Jem, and their father, Atticus–three years punctuated by the arrest and eventual trial of a young black man accused of attacking a white woman. Covering some tough subjects that will get kids asking questions, it was one of the first books I read that brought up the racism and sexism as a discussion. A classic, timeless story.

 

Harry Potter Series – J.K. Rowling

harry potterNow there is a reason why I have chosen one of the best selling and world reknown book series in my selection. I grew up with these books as the were being released and as I read through the series, and as the books got bigger, my reading developed significantly. Being able to tackle harder words whilst getting lost in the wizardry world, it was a win win for my parents and for myself (although unknown to me at the time!). And to this day, I would choose the books over the films. I think it is good to get kids to read the original stories before they watch the films, let their imaginations run wild on what Harry Potter world looks like, without having it on a screen for them.

Leave a Reply

